Film Review: Trust (directed by David Schwimmer)

Read my review of David Schwimmer’s new film, Trust, that I wrote for Paste Magazine here. Friends, this is not, as Schwimmer tackles the uncomfortable subject of rape and online predators.

Two Japan Benefit Albums From Thrill Jockey

Thrill Jockey announced last week that they have put together a couple of benefit compilations to benefit the victims of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan. The cause is good, and you get 64 songs. That’s a lot of songs. Here’s the link and here’s the massive tracklist.

Part One:

01. Fennesz: “Fearless”
02. Helado Negro: “Cabeza Bella”
03. Stephan Mathieu: “(Excerpt from) The Floating World”
04. School of Seven Bells: “Midnight Sun”
05. Lawrence English: “Hotaru”
06. Noveller: “Darkheart”
07. Zeena Parkins: “The Letter”
08. Tom Carter (of Charalambides): “Mended”
09. Akron/Family: “Deep Kazoo”
10. The Ex: “Cold Weather Is Back”
11. Shinji Masuko (of Boredoms/DMBQ): “Botsuon”
12. Oneohtrix Point Never: “The Inside World”
13. Tokimonsta: “Sound Caves”
14. Joshua Abrams: “Jackdaws”
15. Keith Fullerton Whitman: “Anzac #3″
16. Ben Frost: “Sn├Žugla”
17. David Daniell: “Shiho-hiru-tama”
18. Grouper: “Cassiopeia”
19. Tape: “Mirrors”
20. Jefre Cantu-Ledesma: “Moon in a Dewdrop”

21. D. Charles Speer: “Steel Infant”
22. Evan Caminiti (of Barn Owl): “Blue Veil”
23. Blackshaw, Wood, Wood & Tomlinson (James Blackshaw & Hush Arbors): “Are You Alright? (Chump Change)”
24. Nat Baldwin (of Dirty Projectors): “In the Hollows”
25. Chris Forsyth & Shawn Edward Hansen: “Dirty Pool Blues”
26. Zelienople: “Stone Faced About It”
27. Elm (Jon Porras of Barn Owl): “Diamond Dust”
28. Lobisomem: “Kusha”
29. Stabbing Eastwood (Tunde Adebimpe & Ryan Sawyer): “Thundersnow Mountain”
30. Alan Licht & Greg Malcolm: “Natasha Utting Reporting”
31. Scott Tuma: “To: Hasty”
32. Rhys Chatham: “Prayer for the People of Fukushima”

Part Two:

33. Prefuse 73: “The Only Climactic Dissonant Hums”
34. Growing: “Untitled”
35. James Plotkin (of Khanate): “Broken ’96”
36. Totem Test: “Pulse Prayer for Japan”
37. Marcus Schmickler (of Pluramon): “2.71828 Up”
38. Tim Hecker: “Hatred of Music (Double Gate Mix)”
39. Sylvain Chauveau: “Colours in Darkness”
40. Bear In Heaven: “The Days We Have”
41. Spires That In The Sunset Rise with Michael Zerang: “Collision Theory”
42. C. Spencer Yeh: “Solo Violin March 13th 2011″
43. Lau Nau: “Oi Kuolema”
44. Oren Ambarchi: “Merely A Portmanteau”
45. Warm Ghost: “Uncut Diamond (Dripping Pollen Mix)”
46. Bradley & Geofrey (Atlas Sound + White Rainbow): “Mr. Stephen’s Private Service”
47. Peter’s House Music: “Half Step”
48. Leb Laze: “Da Plane Da Plane”
49. Matthewdavid: “Stop Laughing / Be Honest”
50. Sam Prekop: “Lakes River”
51. Simon Scott: “Of You (Before 2082)”
52. Tetuzi Akiyama/Jon Mueller/Jim Schoenecker: “Untitled”
53. Shelley Burgon: “Let It Be New”
54. Giant Sand: “Recovery Mission”
55. William Tyler: “Tears and Saints”
56. Mountains: “Still Life”
57. Ben Vida: “Quadsweep +2 (snkglazz iii)”
58. Maria Chavez: “Natural Disaster #2_2011″
59. Cleared: “Nova”
60. Neptune: “FIG IV”
61. Water Fai: “Tokitomori”
62. Parts & Labor: “Dokonimonai”
63. Jackie-O Motherfucker: “Blood of Life”

64. Greg Davis: “Sho Sai Myo Kichijo Dharani”

MP3: Boris – “Riot Sugar”

Some new hard-rocking, heavy-hitting, sludge-dealing, shit-storming music from Boris off of their new album, Heavy Rocks, due out this spring. Download here.

Video: Buck 65 – “Zombie Delight”

Buck 65 usually annoys me to no end, but his new video for “Zombie Delight” is ten times better than The Walking Dead.

MP3: Yacht – “Dystopia (The Earth is on Fire)”

Is that some Auto Tune I hear on Yacht’s new single from their forthcoming album, Shangri-La (out on DFA 6/21)? I believe it is.

Video: RA The Rugged Man – “A Star is Born”

This song is not new, but I guess the video is. RA is always great, but this video is basically an updated version of “Dre Day.”

MP3: Atari Teenage Riot – “Blood In My Eyes”

Atari Teenage Riot are back with a new album out this summer on Digital Hardcore, Is This Hyperreal? Cut through the frenetic tech-punk haze to decipher the anti-human trafficking message and enjoy “Blood In My Eyes” here.

Video: Steve Aoki and Sidney Samson – “Wake Up Call”

This video is pretty stupid, but boy do Clifton Collins Jr. and Michelle Rodriguez look hot.

New Release – Bonnie Prince Billy and Matt Sweeney

Here’s what I know:

Matt Sweeney & Bonnie ‘Prince’┬áBilly
“Must Be Blind” b/w “Life In Muscle”
April 19, 2011

MP3: Blank Dogs – “Keeping All The Time”

Some new music from Blank Dogs. The Cure meets Guided By Voices. Enjoy.

Blank Dogs – Keeping All The Time.

A Tribe Called Quest Interviewed About Michael Rappaport’s Doc

Michael Rappaport made this doc, A Tribe Called Quest apparently hate it… this interview basically offers up a whole lot of nothing, but Rappaport does kind of seem like a dick. Wikileaks, it’s not, but still… Stop talking about this movie and let’s all get together and watch it, OK? Oh, yeah, and Jarobi calls in.

RIP Nate Dogg

We’ll miss you.

MP3: MSTRKRFT – “Beards Again”

The name of the song sounds like a Les Savy Fav throwaway, but the music sounds like Iron Maiden blowing Justice. Download the new MSTRKRFT song, “Beards Again,” here.

Stream: The Pains of Being Pure At Heart – Belong

Are you streaming the new Pains of Being Pure At Heart album today? You should, especially if you’ve taken a muscle relaxer because your back is fucked up from sleeping on an air mattress in the living room because it rained so hard the ceiling started leaking over your bed last night.

Video: Black Lips – “Go Out and Get It”

This new Black Lips video makes me mad, and I think it’s supposed to make me mad which makes me even more mad. Watch here.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers